News from Central 2 Region
Laura Godfrey, Central 2 Regional Director
Spring 2014

Meet your Next Central 2 Regional Director- Comfort Akwaji-Anderson!

This spring at the end of the 46th Annual Conference in New Orleans, the regional director for Central 2 will be Comfort Akwaji-Anderson . Comfort is from Iowa State University and has been a longtime member and friend of NCSM. She was the 2008 Iris Carl Travel Grant Recipient and is a Ph.D. Candidate in Mathematics Education - Iowa State University. Comfort has co-presented in NCSM leadership development across America.

What does this mean for Comfort? It means she is your contact for leadership resources. Call her if you need a NCSM leader to come speak at your state conference. Email her if you would like information and handouts and goodies for state conferences to advertise our services for math specialists and math leaders. Comfort takes the best interests of our proud states (Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Wisconsin) to the national organization and helps us to direct the leaders in mathematics education. Send Comfort a warm mid-western welcome.

Where do you want to be in April of 2014? You want to be in New Orleans! The 46th Annual NCSM and the Annual NCTM Meeting and Exposition promises to be the best ever. The NCSM Annual Event is April 7 - 9, 2014, 6:45 am Monday - 5:00 pm Wednesday.

The Keynote Speaker is Dr. Michael Smoker. FOCUS: First Things First for the 21st Century

His most recent book is the best-selling FOCUS: Elevating the Essentials to Radically Improve Student Learning. His previous bestseller is RESULTS NOW, which was selected as a finalist for "book of the year" by the Association of Education Publishers. He is also a featured author in ASCD's Master Class DVD series. He has written five books and dozens of articles for educational journals and newspapers, TIME magazine and as a regular columnist for Phi Delta Kappan.

Go to the NCSM website for more information about Dr. Schmoker and the other Monday through Wednesday major session speakers, listed below - Deborah Loewenberg Ball, Jo Boaler, Marilyn Burns, Jere Confrey. Phil Daro, Francis (Skip) Fennell, Margaret Heritage, Heather C. Hill, Timothy D. Kanold, Steve Leinwand, Dan Meyer, and Valerie L. Mills

I hope to see you there!


^ Top