54th Annual Conference Speakers


Distinguished speakers will be featured throughout the conference. Each will address important issues in mathematics education and leadership. Each of the celebrated speakers below will present a session during the three-day 54th Anniversary conference in Anaheim, CA.

2022 Keynote Speaker

Dr. Tyrone Howard


Dr. Tyrone Howard is a professor of education in the School of Education & Information Studies at UCLA. His research addresses issues tied to race, culture, access, and educational opportunity for minoritized student populations. Professor Howard is the author of several best-selling books. He is a native of Compton, California where he also served as a classroom teacher. Professor Howard is a member of the National Academy of Education and has been listed by Education Week as one of the 30 most influential educational scholars in the nation on education practice, policy, and research. 

Major Session Speakers – Monday, September 26, 2022

John Staley
Lisa Williams
Amanda Jansen
Traci Richards
Laura Bower
Zandra De Araujo
Paul Gray
Cathery Yeh

Major Session Speakers – Tuesday, September 27, 2022

Brea Ratliff
Peter Liljedahl
Kay Gilliland Equity Lecture
Graham Fletcher

Major Session Speakers – Wednesday, September 28, 2022

Public Math Team: Molly Day
Public Math Team: Christopher Danielson
Public Math Team: Chris Nho
Ilana Horn
Kristopher Childs

Spotlight Speakers

We have added a new feature that will spotlight some favorite speakers in addition to the major speakers. These are well-known presenters that submitted proposals and presented at our previous conferences.

Tim Kanold
Latrenda Knighten
Ma Bernadette Salgarino
Kirsten Sarginger
Melissa Gilbert
Thomasina Adams
Steve Leinwand
Lisa Brown
Danielle Seabold
Tom Stricklin
Marcus Blakeney
Mona Toncheff
Pam Seda
Alexandra Martinez
Phil Daro
Stephanie Melville
Chris Shore
Natevidad Casas

Closing Speakers

Cathy Seeley
Nicole Joseph
Jo Boaler