Select Page

Board of Directors

The NCSM Board of Directors is the policy-making and executive body of NCSM. Each member is elected by NCSM members and is entrusted to act in the best interest of NCSM members and mathematics education. Each Board member embraces the spirit of voluntarism and actively promotes the mission and vision of NCSM for excellence and equity in mathematics education.

also...

NCSM Board Members:

  • lead out of a commitment to mathematics education, to NCSM members, and to NCSM.
  • support NCSM’s growth and the leadership of others in mathematics education.
  • contribute time, expertise, and passion, supporting, and networking with potential and current NCSM members.
  • perform duties described in the NCSM Constitution and NCSM By-Laws.
  • create, monitor, and assess an annual strategic plan to accomplish articulated goals that support NCSM’s Mission and Vision.

Get Involved with NCSM.

  • Attend NCSM national and regional events.
  • Work with your Regional Director and their team of state and provincial leaders. Contact your Regional Director.
  • Become a member of the NCSM Board of Directors.
  • Volunteer your expertise. Contact the NCSM President.
  • Disseminate NCSM opportunities and information with colleagues in your professional circles.

Let us know what you are doing in mathematics education. Contact any Board Member.

Executive Committee

Katey Arrington
President
karrington@mathedleadership.org
Paul Gray
Past President
pgray@mathedleadership.org@Dr_PaulGray
Jenny Novak
First Vice President
jnovak@mathedleadership.org
Barbara Griffin
Second Vice President
bgriffin@mathedleadership.org

Regional Directors

The NCSM Board of Directors includes nine Regional Directors. They are elected by their regional peers and are among the Board’s voting members. They, like all their Board colleagues, are volunteers and actively promote NCSM’s mission and vision for excellence and equity in mathematics education, by contributing their time, expertise, and passion. Regional Directors are NCSM’s outreach backbone, seeking out, supporting, and networking with potential and current NCSM members. Regional Directors represent the voice and perspective of mathematics education leaders in their respective region.

furthermore...

Regional Directors

  • represent mathematics educators who reside in their region’s states, provinces, and counties.
  • serve as a point of contact to exchange information and opportunities in mathematics education
  • collaborate with others in the pursuit of mathematics education excellence and equity.
  • represent NCSM at conferences, seminars, meetings, and other events.
  • organize and host NCSM events for NCSM members at NCTM regionals and other venues.
  • disseminate information about NCSM resources, professional learning opportunities, and collaboration prospects.
  • share regional activities, information, and resources.
  • spotlight the work and contributions of mathematics education leaders in their region.
  • write and solicit articles for NCSM publications from NCSM members within their region.
  • solicit Ross Taylor/Glenn Gilbert National Leadership Award nominees.
  • broadcast Iris Carl Travel Grant opportunities.
  • coordinate the outreach efforts of state and provincial regional team leaders.
  • provide opportunities for mathematics leaders in their region to become NCSM members or extend their current NCSM membership.

Collaborate with your Regional Director

  • Share events, projects, information, and resources for mathematics education leaders. Contact your Regional Director.
  • Volunteer your expertise. Work with your Regional Director and their team of state and provincial leaders. Contact your Regional Director.
  • Volunteer at national and regional NCSM events.
  • Nominate candidates for the Ross Taylor/Glenn Gilbert National Leadership Award.
  • Nominate candidates for the NCSM Board of Directors.
  • Disseminate information you receive from NCSM to others in your professional circles.
  • Actively promote NCSM among other mathematics education leaders.
  • Attend NCSM regional events.

Deanna Brajcich
Regional Director
Canada
dbrajcich@mathedleadership.org
Nicole Stommel
Regional Director
Central US 1
nstommel@mathedleadership.org
Susie Katt
Regional Director
Central US 2
skatt@mathedleadership.org@susiekatt
Amy Lucenta
Regional Director
Eastern US 1
alucenta@mathedleadership.org
Karen Riley Jeffers
Regional Director
Eastern US 2
krileyjeffers@mathedleadership.org@Karen_RJeffers
Ian Shenk
Regional Director
Southern US 1
ishenk@mathedleadership.org@mathshenk
Michael Greenlee
Regional Director
Southern US 2
mgreenlee@mathedleadership.org
Tara Fulton
Regional Director
Western US 1
tfulton@mathedleadership.org
Sean Nank
Regional Director
Western US 2
snank@mathedleadership.org

Appointed Positions

Joanie Funderburk
Affiliate Coordinator
jfunderburk@mathedleadership.org
George Cage
Awards Chair
gcage@mathedleadership.org@g_ineducation
Judy Dunmire
Inspiration! Editor
jdunmire@mathedleadership.org
Heather Crawford-Ferre
Associate Inspiration! Editor
hcrawfordferre@mathedleadership.org
Paula Jakopovic
Co-Journal Editor
pjakopovic@mathedleadership.org@pjakopovic1
Evthokia Stephanie Saclarides
Co-Journal Editor
esaclarides@mathedleadership.org
Alison Kothe
Marketing Chair
akothe@mathedleadership.org@alisonknhttps://www.linkedin.com/in/alisonkothe/
Candies Winfun-Cook
Membership and Volunteer Coordinator
cwinfun-cook@mathedleadership.org@candies.cook1920Candies Cook
Josh Males
NCTM Representative
jmales@mathedleadership.org
Pam Seda
Nominations Chair
pseda@mathedleadership.org
Cory Bennett
Position Papers Editor
cbennett@mathedleadership.org
Brian Buckhalter
Professional Learning Director
bbuckhalter@mathedleadership.org
Erin Lehmann
Professional Learning Director
elehmann@mathedleadership.org
Nicora Placa
Coaching Coordinator
nplaca@mathedleadership.org@NicoraPlaca
Astrid Fossum
Secretary
afossum@mathedleadership.org
Dionne Aminata
Social Media Chair
daminata@mathedleadership.org@mathtrust_ed@mathtrust_edhttp://www.facebook.com/mathtrust
Brea Ratliff
Sponsor Liaison
bratliff@mathedleadership.org
Sherita Wilson-Rodgers
Sponsor Liaison
swilson-rodgers@mathedleadership.org@slavon79
Steven Shadel
Treasurer
sshadel@mathedleadership.org
Stephanie Jacques
Web Editor
sjacques@mathedleadership.orghttps://www.linkedin.com/in/stephanie-jacques-47bb598a
Grace Anne McKay
Conference Coordinator
gmckay@mathedleadership.org@gamckay
Anita Brown
Local Arrangements Chair
abrown@mathedleadership.org@musicmathmom