Board of Directors

The NCSM Board of Directors is the policy-making and executive body of NCSM. Each member is elected by NCSM members and is entrusted to act in the best interest of NCSM members and mathematics education. Each Board member embraces the spirit of voluntarism and actively promotes the mission and vision of NCSM for excellence and equity in mathematics education.

also...

NCSM Board Members:

  • lead out of a commitment to mathematics education, to NCSM members, and to NCSM.
  • support NCSM’s growth and the leadership of others in mathematics education.
  • contribute time, expertise, and passion, supporting, and networking with potential and current NCSM members.
  • perform duties described in the NCSM Constitution and NCSM By-Laws.
  • create, monitor, and assess an annual strategic plan to accomplish articulated goals that support NCSM’s Mission and Vision.

Get Involved with NCSM.

  • Attend NCSM national and regional events.
  • Work with your Regional Director and their team of state and provincial leaders. Contact your Regional Director.
  • Become a member of the NCSM Board of Directors.
  • Volunteer your expertise. Contact the NCSM President.
  • Disseminate NCSM opportunities and information with colleagues in your professional circles.

Let us know what you are doing in mathematics education. Contact any Board Member.

Executive Committee

Mona Toncheff
President
mtoncheff@mathedleadership.org@toncheff5
Paul Gray
President Elect
pgray@mathedleadership.org@Dr_PaulGray
Shawn Towle
First Vice President
stowle@mathedleadership.org@towlemath
Sharon Rendon
Second Vice President
srendon@mathedleadership.org

Regional Directors

The NCSM Board of Directors includes nine Regional Directors. They are elected by their regional peers and are among the Board’s voting members. They, like all their Board colleagues, are volunteers and actively promote NCSM’s mission and vision for excellence and equity in mathematics education, by contributing their time, expertise, and passion. Regional Directors are NCSM’s outreach backbone, seeking out, supporting, and networking with potential and current NCSM members. Regional Directors represent the voice and perspective of mathematics education leaders in their respective region.

furthermore...

Regional Directors

  • represent mathematics educators who reside in their region’s states, provinces, and counties.
  • serve as a point of contact to exchange information and opportunities in mathematics education
  • collaborate with others in the pursuit of mathematics education excellence and equity.
  • represent NCSM at conferences, seminars, meetings, and other events.
  • organize and host NCSM events for NCSM members at NCTM regionals and other venues.
  • disseminate information about NCSM resources, professional learning opportunities, and collaboration prospects.
  • share regional activities, information, and resources.
  • spotlight the work and contributions of mathematics education leaders in their region.
  • write and solicit articles for NCSM publications from NCSM members within their region.
  • solicit Ross Taylor/Glenn Gilbert National Leadership Award nominees.
  • broadcast Iris Carl Travel Grant opportunities.
  • coordinate the outreach efforts of state and provincial regional team leaders.
  • provide opportunities for mathematics leaders in their region to become NCSM members or extend their current NCSM membership.

Collaborate with your Regional Director

  • Share events, projects, information, and resources for mathematics education leaders. Contact your Regional Director.
  • Volunteer your expertise. Work with your Regional Director and their team of state and provincial leaders. Contact your Regional Director.
  • Volunteer at national and regional NCSM events.
  • Nominate candidates for the Ross Taylor/Glenn Gilbert National Leadership Award.
  • Nominate candidates for the NCSM Board of Directors.
  • Disseminate information you receive from NCSM to others in your professional circles.
  • Actively promote NCSM among other mathematics education leaders.
  • Attend NCSM regional events.
Steven Shadel
Regional Director
Central US 1
sshadel@mathedleadership.org
Astrid Fossum
Regional Director
Central US 2
afossum@mathedleadership.org
Cathy Boutin
Regional Director
Eastern US 1
cboutin@mathedleadership.org
John SanGiovanni
Regional Director
Eastern US 2
jsangiovanni@mathedleadership.org
Bernard Frost
Regional Director
Southern US 1
bfrost@mathedleadership.org(843) 810-2700
Katey Arrington
Regional Director
Southern US 2
karrington@mathedleadership.org
Denise Trakas
Regional Director
Western US 1
dtrakas@mathedleadership.org(775) 750-4413@denisetrakas
Rosa Serratore
Regional Director
Western US 2
rserratore@mathedleadership.org
Cheryl Cantin
Regional Director
Canada
ccantin@mathedleadership.org(450) 577-4379@ETSBMathSci

Appointed Positions

Jacob Sisson
Affiliate Coordinator
jsisson@mathedleadership.org(501) 354-2269
Samantha Wuttig
Awards Chair
swuttig@mathedleadership.org
Ruth Harbin Miles
Conference Coordinator
rharbin-miles@mathedleadership.org
Karen Spalding
Conference Coordinator
kspalding@mathedleadership.org
Bill Barnes
Historian
wbarnes@mathedleadership.org(410) 313-6688@billjbarnes
Gwen Zimmermann
Inspiration! Editor
gzimmermann@mathedleadership.org
Kim Romain
Inspiration! Associate Editor
kromain@mathedleadership.org
Brian Buckhalter
Journal Editor
bbuckhalter@mathedleadership.org
Erin Lehmann
Associate Journal Editor
elehmann@mathedleadership.org
Pam Seda
Local Arrangements Chair
pseda@mathedleadership.org
Patricia (Pat) Baltzley
Marketing Chair
pbaltzley@mathedleadership.org(410) 979-1594
Kris Cunningham
Membership and Volunteer Coordinator
kcunningham@mathedleadership.org(602) 764-1310
David Van Vleet
NCTM Representative
dvanvleet@mathedleadership.org(703) 980-8075@DVsqrd
Donna Leak
Nominations Chair
dleak@mathedleadership.org
Shelly M. Jones
Position Papers Editor
sjones@mathedleadership.org(860) 832-2857@ShellyMJones1www.ccsu.edu/faculty/jonessem
Georgina Rivera
Professional Learning Director
grivera@mathedleadership.org
Jenny Novak
Professional Learning Director
novak@mathedleadership.org
Sarah Schuhl
Secretary
sschuhl@mathedleadership.org
Becky Angus
Social Media Chair
rjangus@mathedleadership.org
Ronni David
Sponsor Liaison
rdavid@mathedleadership.org
Tom Stricklin
Sponsor Liaison
tstricklin@mathedleadership.org
Linda K. Griffith
Treasurer
lgriffith@mathedleadership.org(501) 450-0511
Natalie Crist
Web Editor
ncrist@mathedleadership.org(410) 596-3291