Board of Directors

The NCSM Board of Directors is the policy-making and executive body of NCSM. Each member is elected by NCSM members and is entrusted to act in the best interest of NCSM members and mathematics education. Each Board member embraces the spirit of voluntarism and actively promotes the mission and vision of NCSM for excellence and equity in mathematics education.

also...

NCSM Board Members:

  • lead out of a commitment to mathematics education, to NCSM members, and to NCSM.
  • support NCSM’s growth and the leadership of others in mathematics education.
  • contribute time, expertise, and passion, supporting, and networking with potential and current NCSM members.
  • perform duties described in the NCSM Constitution and NCSM By-Laws.
  • create, monitor, and assess an annual strategic plan to accomplish articulated goals that support NCSM’s Mission and Vision.

Get Involved with NCSM.

  • Attend NCSM national and regional events.
  • Work with your Regional Director and their team of state and provincial leaders. Contact your Regional Director.
  • Become a member of the NCSM Board of Directors.
  • Volunteer your expertise. Contact the NCSM President.
  • Disseminate NCSM opportunities and information with colleagues in your professional circles.

Let us know what you are doing in mathematics education. Contact any Board Member.

Executive Committee

Paul Gray
President
pgray@mathedleadership.org@Dr_PaulGray
Mona Toncheff
Past President
mtoncheff@mathedleadership.org@toncheff5
Sharon Rendon
First Vice President
srendon@mathedleadership.org
Georgina Rivera
Second Vice President
grivera@mathedleadership.org

Regional Directors

The NCSM Board of Directors includes nine Regional Directors. They are elected by their regional peers and are among the Board’s voting members. They, like all their Board colleagues, are volunteers and actively promote NCSM’s mission and vision for excellence and equity in mathematics education, by contributing their time, expertise, and passion. Regional Directors are NCSM’s outreach backbone, seeking out, supporting, and networking with potential and current NCSM members. Regional Directors represent the voice and perspective of mathematics education leaders in their respective region.

furthermore...

Regional Directors

  • represent mathematics educators who reside in their region’s states, provinces, and counties.
  • serve as a point of contact to exchange information and opportunities in mathematics education
  • collaborate with others in the pursuit of mathematics education excellence and equity.
  • represent NCSM at conferences, seminars, meetings, and other events.
  • organize and host NCSM events for NCSM members at NCTM regionals and other venues.
  • disseminate information about NCSM resources, professional learning opportunities, and collaboration prospects.
  • share regional activities, information, and resources.
  • spotlight the work and contributions of mathematics education leaders in their region.
  • write and solicit articles for NCSM publications from NCSM members within their region.
  • solicit Ross Taylor/Glenn Gilbert National Leadership Award nominees.
  • broadcast Iris Carl Travel Grant opportunities.
  • coordinate the outreach efforts of state and provincial regional team leaders.
  • provide opportunities for mathematics leaders in their region to become NCSM members or extend their current NCSM membership.

Collaborate with your Regional Director

  • Share events, projects, information, and resources for mathematics education leaders. Contact your Regional Director.
  • Volunteer your expertise. Work with your Regional Director and their team of state and provincial leaders. Contact your Regional Director.
  • Volunteer at national and regional NCSM events.
  • Nominate candidates for the Ross Taylor/Glenn Gilbert National Leadership Award.
  • Nominate candidates for the NCSM Board of Directors.
  • Disseminate information you receive from NCSM to others in your professional circles.
  • Actively promote NCSM among other mathematics education leaders.
  • Attend NCSM regional events.
Jason Gauthier
Regional Director
Central US 1
jgauthier@mathedleadership.org
Astrid Fossum
Regional Director
Central US 2
afossum@mathedleadership.org
Cathy Boutin
Regional Director
Eastern US 1
cboutin@mathedleadership.org
John SanGiovanni
Regional Director
Eastern US 2
jsangiovanni@mathedleadership.org
Ian Shenk
Regional Director
Southern US 1
ishenk@mathedleadership.org@mathshenk
Katey Arrington
Regional Director
Southern US 2
karrington@mathedleadership.org
Tara Fulton
Regional Director
Western US 1
tfulton@mathedleadership.org
Rosa Serratore
Regional Director
Western US 2
rserratore@mathedleadership.org
Deanna Brajcich
Regional Director
Canada
dbrajcich@mathedleadership.org

Appointed Positions

Heather Crawford-Ferre
Affiliate Coordinator
hcrawfordferre@mathedleadership.org
Brian Buckhalter
Awards Chair
bbuckhalter@mathedleadership.org
Shawn Towle
Historian
stowle@mathedleadership.org@towlemath
Kim Romain
Inspiration! Editor
kromain@mathedleadership.org
Luis Lima
Associate Inspiration! Editor
llima@mathedleadership.org
Erin Lehmann
Journal Editor
elehmann@mathedleadership.org
Paula Jakopovic
Associate Journal Editor
pjakopovic@mathedleadership.org
Christina Lincoln-Moore
Local Arrangements Chair
clmoore@mathedleadership.org
Becky Angus
Marketing Chair
rangus@mathedleadership.org
Sara Frisbie
Membership and Volunteer Coordinator
sfrisbie@mathedleadership.org
Kris Cunningham
NCTM Representative
kcunningham@mathedleadership.org
Shelly Jones
Nominations Chair
sjones@mathedleadership.org@ShellyMJones1
Cory Bennett
Position Papers Editor
cbennett@mathedleadership.org
Jenny Novak
Professional Learning Director
novak@mathedleadership.org
Pam Seda
Professional Learning Director
pseda@mathedleadership.org
Dametra Skinner
Secretary
dskinner@mathedleadership.org
Natevidad Casas
Social Media Chair
ncasas@mathedleadership.org
Tom Stricklin
Sponsor Liaison
tstricklin@mathedleadership.org
Sheila Holt
Sponsor Liaison
sholt@mathedleadership.org
Steven Shadel
Treasurer
sshadel@mathedleadership.org
Natalie Crist
Web Editor
ncrist@mathedleadership.org